First 2020 NEAR Event 7/11/20!!

Hello members!!! We finally have some good news! Our first running event this year is scheduled for Sat. July 11th at Bethel Speedway in White Lake, N.Y. This will be the annual “Remembering Danbury Night” featuring the Ev Pierce Memorial Race !
All member cars get two free passes, must have paid up dues. Membership Forms will be available from Rich Goucher at the Speedway. Format will be practice, 10 lap heats, and a 15 or 20 lap feature depending on attendance. Pit gate opens at 3:00 p.m.

We will announce other 2020 events later this week as we firm up plans with the venues.
Please contact Rich at 860-209-7343 if attending(or with any questions) so we can plan on a group area in the pits. Please come support this first event to be held with all safety protocols(masks) and social distancing.

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series (NWAAS) LaJoie’s Auto & Scrap Recycling presents ‘Remembering Danbury Racearena Night’. All regular divisions racing except (NO SS. NO Four Cylinders, NO Rookie Bandos) Ev Pierce Memorial for BMS Asphalt Mods (50), Nick Giardina Tribute 602 Sportsman (25) (guaranteed 3rd starting spot in the 71 lapper), Don Lajoie (71) DIRT Modified, New England Antique Racers Club (20), Long Island Vintage Club (20), Northeast Vintage Dirt Mods Chick Stockwell (15),Legends (20), Bandos(15).
July 11 @ 3:00 pm

Mike Stefanik Inducted into NASCAR Hall of Fame!!

The NASCAR Hall of Fame announced Tuesday its three inductees for the Class of 2021, with Dale Earnhardt Jr., Mike Stefanik and Red Farmer set for enshrinement next winter.

The three-member class was the first elected under new voting rules, with nominees divided into Modern Era and Pioneer Era groups. Two were chosen from a field of 10 Modern Era nominees, and one was selected from a group of five on the Pioneer Era ballot for legends whose careers began more than 60 years ago.

Earnhardt — a two-time Daytona 500 winner who was chosen as NASCAR’s Most Popular Driver 15 times — led all nominees with 76 percent of the vote, winning induction on his first year on the ballot. Stefanik — a nine-time champion in Modified and Busch North (now ARCA East) competition — was the other Modern Era selection, appearing on 49 percent of ballots cast in his seventh year of eligibility. Ricky Rudd and Neil Bonnett were the next top vote-getters in the Modern Era category.

Farmer, a founding member of the Alabama Gang and a four-time regional champion in NASCAR’s early days, topped the Pioneer Era list with 71 percent of the vote. Hershel McGriff and Banjo Matthews were the next-highest candidates receiving votes.