2021 HOF Selection Committee Meets

Standing L-R Rich Goucher, Dick Berggren, Pete Zanardi, Nick Teto, Cynthia Tebbetts, John Spence, Mark Alden, Carl Oberg, Pete Vander Veer, Brad Cowen, Paul Masse, Ric Mariscal.

Front row L-R Pete Newsham, Dave Coutermarsh, Jim Blake, Lloyd Hutchins, RA Silvia, Rollie Linblad

   On May 11, the members of the NEAR Hall of Fame Selection Committee met at the Ron Bouchard Museum. The committee’s task was to narrow over 100 nominations submitted by  the members down to 16 finalists. Members of the Committee come from all genres of racing in New England. Bios of the chosen were  printed and distributed to past Hall of Fame inductees and members of the Selection Committee to narrow the candidates down to eight names. That voting will result in the eight who will be inducted into the class of 2021. Many thanks to Treasurer/Membership Chair April May Preston for printing, assembling, and mailing out the HOF Packages. It was a large task.

   A tentative site for the November induction ceremony has been identified. The Chairmen and NEAR President will be touring that facility this month.  Manleelys, where the event had been held for several years is no longer available for our function due to the large building’s sale. We hope to engage a destination location that will allow attendees to book a room on Saturday(Hotel). That would enable folks to come from a distance, relax a bit, enjoy some bench racing and shenanigans on Saturday Night before the HOF on Sunday. Well rested, all could enjoy the banquet and travel home after more safely. Considering our attendees, this facility will be located in central Massachusetts.

   The diverse Selection Committee includes at least one member from every New England state. There was no Class of 2020 because of the Covid-19 Pandemic. Voting was organized/moderated  by Selection Committee Chairmen  Pete Newsham and Mark Alden.

 Thanks to Dick Berggren for the photo and copy